terima kasih which is Indonesian for Thank you. - Reisverslag uit Ubud, Indonesië van Jeannot Peijen - WaarBenJij.nu terima kasih which is Indonesian for Thank you. - Reisverslag uit Ubud, Indonesië van Jeannot Peijen - WaarBenJij.nu

terima kasih which is Indonesian for Thank you.

Door: Jeannot Peijen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jeannot

02 Mei 2018 | Indonesië, Ubud

After a long time of enjoying life in Thailand and for two weeks in Indonesia I have finally time to write something about my life and findings while my travels. The Three words I would describe this last period of Joy are: Perspective, acceptance and humanity.

Being abroad and experience different cultures changes my whole view of the world we are living in. The international relations minor that I followed in Thailand contributed to a change in my perspective as well. While we addressed many sensitive topics as child labour, refugees and poverty. During my travels and the minor, I felt more blessed and felt very privileged of the life I already have in the Netherlands. However, I would not bore you with my ideas to make the world a better place and tell a little bit more about Thailand and all the amazing nature and culture I saw.

So where should I start? In my last blog I ended with full-moon parties and beautiful Islands. This was nothing when you compare it with what I have seen after that. To make this blog not a novel I will describe shortly the places where I made the best memories or saw the most beautiful nature.

I will start with Khao Sok. Khao Sok is a national park that is located in the province of Surat Thani. The national park is in my perception a paradise on earth. The park is one of the oldest rain forests of this planet. Together with my Friend Jorn I went here. The first day we went exploring the park ourselves. Without a guide we went walking through the park and saw some waterfalls and mainly green plants and trees. There are a lot of Banana trees by the way in Thailand. So, Zoe D’aboy If you are reading. You should go very soon as well travelling here again. Moreover, the second day in Koh Sok made really an impression on me and Jorn. This day we went to Koh Sok lake. A boat was bringing us to our accommodation. The accommodation was located on the river itself and was very primitive. However, very beautiful as well. While it was surrounded by only water, cliffs and rainforest. The boat drive to the accommodation was stunning already. Many cliffs and rocks that are in the water. This was an image that my eyes had never seen. Absolutely stunning and mind-blowing! From our accommodation we did many activities as jungle tours, kayaking and cave survival trips. Khao Sok had in my opinion the most beautiful nature that I had seen in Thailand while I was travelling and studying there. The nature made me realized even more in what for beautiful world we are living. It is amazing how nature has such a grip on the mind and that the world keeps surprising me of all the gorgeous nature that it has to offer.

After Khao Sok and what was an experience which I treasure as well was the island Koh Tao. Jorn and I travelled together towards this Island. At this Island we met three more friends of us to go together scuba diving. We all did not had our license yet and we heard that Koh Tao was the place to get it! The rumours were true. Arrived at Koh Tao we all felt the lay-back atmosphere from many relaxed people. Mainly divers. The diving course was very doable and the diving itself was amazing. The water life made me feel so much closer with the earth. The pretty fish, corals and clarity of the oceans of Thailand are fascinating. The diving was even more fun to do because of the fact we were with the five of us and we all passed. For everyone who still wants to get there diving license I would highly recommend Koh Tao.
Moreover, the national park and the island were all visited in my holiday week. However, I was not said to go back to Bangkok and start school. I knew what was waiting for me there the next day and that made me extremely happy. RUUD!

This was the best period in Thailand, to show Ruud where I lived. To share my experiences and to do this in real life. Instead via technology. Do not get my wrong. I am very happy that we are living in a world where it is very easy to get in contact with each other. However, nothing is better than real contact. From the moment Ruud and I saw each other again we were beyond happy, and it felt like we did not been away from each other if we were. Ruud stayed for sixteen days and untough I still had to go to school during the week-days the time that we could spent together was very precious for us.

Together with Ruud we went to Koh Lanta and Koh Rok. Koh Lanta is an island in the south of Thailand which is not that touristic yet. Therefore, we had chosen to go there. The island had a relaxed atmosphere and when you arrive with the boat the beautiful beaches are already shown. The Island is perfect for people who loves to be in an exotic island. The island has many relaxing facilities and activities. Ruud and I enjoyed from the great Thai food and Thai massages at the island. In the evening we went for some drinks and had a great time. We laughed a lot together this evening. Not that this diverse much from our normal daily life. When we are together we are continually smiling. The real surprise for us was Koh Rok. This uninhibited island had the most beautiful blue water and white beaches. For snorkelling or diving also highly recommendable. The water is extremely clear. We saw Dori and Nemo here!

The week-end after Koh Lanta and Koh Rok we went to Green Bangkok. This is on the other side of the river from Bangkok. In green Bangkok Ruud and I had a real honey-moon suite. The accommodation was in the trees. Therefore, we could sleep in our lodging inside or outside. The place was stunning and very romantic. In green Bangkok we had a great tour by a local on bicycle. We highly enjoyed the nature, and this was just on the other side of the river from Bangkok! The Thai people call it also the lungs of Bangkok. However, it went more and more touristic during the years. It is still worth a visit while it is not as touristic as other parts of Thailand. However, it is kind a sad to see that everywhere in the world more is getting build for tourism.

Obviously, Ruud and I did many more things in Bangkok. However, once again I will not bore you with a whole novel. While Ruud was heading back to the Netherlands I had to due a lot of school work. Luckily, I found my motivation and I kept track with the Minor.
The last two weeks of my travels in Thailand I went to Chang Mai and celebrated Thai New-year in Bangkok. Chang Mai has many lovely markets and amazing nature as well. Jorn and I went zip-lining, hiking and we went to an elephant sanctuary. I still mis Bunju and Kafee. My elephant friends in Chang-Mai. We even spent the evening together with the employee of the elephant sanctuary and had a lot of fun with him that night. He showed me and Jorn the city and talked more about elephants and the need of protecting them. When you are in Thailand you must see Chang Mai!

Before I travelled to Bali we spent Song-kran with the group in Bangkok. This is the celebration of Thai New-year. Everyone in Thailand has water soakers with them and all the local people and foreigners are making people wet. A water festival! An experience I will never forget!
Now I am already two weeks in Indonesia. Mainly in Bali and the people over here are incredibly kind. Everyday I am learning more from others and learning more about myself. Last week-end I went with my friends Anna and Hanna to the island Nusa Lembongan. Again a amazing island with beautiful beaches. As Thailand was wonderful it also was quite hectic sometimes. Since I arrived in Bali I am extremely relaxed. The atmosphere over here is lovely. Next to that, it is amazing to have some close friends of the Netherlands here with me in Bali.

To conclude, I come back to the three words. My perspective changed and keeps changing to the world while I keep learning more about culture, humans and nations. Humanity is something very important. While we are all human. Therefore, we are all family of each other and to see each other no matter what your background is as equal makes us understand each other way more! Lastly acceptance. Accepting how things are and accepting your flaws, limitations but also your joy makes life so enjoyable! Yes I do know this all sounds quite ‘’zweverig’’ as we in Dutch would say. But, after reading ‘’the book of joy’’ there is no coming back to this statement.

I will keep you posted!

Love,
Jeannot

  • 02 Mei 2018 - 21:20

    Sannie:

    Schatje patatje, de drie woorden die bij mijn reactie passen: IK MIS JE! Mooi geschreven!

  • 15 Juli 2018 - 10:40

    Ouders:

    Wat maak je veel mee en kom je op geweldige plekken je haalt er wel de volle 100% uit en besef dat ook
    leer hard maar geniet harder is ons motto. Trots op je

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Ubud

Jeannot

Ambitious student who loves to explore new cultures and new people.

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 625
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7539

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2018 - 31 December 2018

Thailand

02 Mei 2018 - 02 Mei 2018

Indonesie

Landen bezocht: